Messaging and privacy

Apparently I have been living under a rock and missed learning about the many different options for messaging in a smartphone world. So while I use Skype rarely and Facebook chat a bit more often, I am still mostly an SMS girl. I have heard of Snapchat but in my mind it’s linked with sexting and the type of messages you wouldn’t want your mother to read. However the reason for this post is that I haven’t consciously registered the Viber app and its approach to privacy until today. Snapchat seems to me to be more about privacy in terms of keeping person-to-person communication “safe” from prying friends and family, whereas Viber seems to be more about privacy from Big Brother (government, workplace and big business/marketing). I guess that much and all as I dislike Australia’s politics, I can say so publicly without too much fear of retribution.

Thoughts/comments? And what else have I missed by way of new communication channels that I should know of!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 comment for “Messaging and privacy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *